Open Scholarship Award

uOttawa Library Open Scholarship Award


Established in 2016, the University of Ottawa Library Open Scholarship Award recognizes faculty leaders that demonstrate excellence in supporting and practicing open scholarship.  Open scholarship encompasses all aspects of open access, open data and open educational resources in both teaching and research.

The Library has created the Open Scholarship Award to recognize faculty members and instructional staff who are committed to exploring the opportunities afforded by the global shift toward an open ecosystem of scholarly research and teaching. This non-monetary award is awarded by the Library during Open Access Week every year in which appropriate candidates are nominated.

Eligibility for 2022

To be eligible for the prize, candidates must:

  • be full-time or part-time faculty members or instructional staff affiliated with the University of Ottawa;
  • have produced the work under consideration recently (e.g. within the last year);
  • have the support of one peer for their nomination;
  • submit their nomination form online by October 19, 2022, 12:00 pm.  

Selection Committee

The choice of recipient for this non-monetary award will be made by a selection committee comprised of:

  • one representative from the Library;
  • one representative from the Research Office;
  • one faculty member.

Nomination Process

Each nomination form must include the following:

  • contact information for candidate;
  • support of one peer;
  • completed nomination form including a short supporting explanation (max 250 words) detailing the candidate’s commitment to open scholarship.

Examples of open scholarship

  • Teaching materials are made openly available
  • Open data is used
  • Data produced is open and available for reuse
  • Open access publishing
  • Openness in sharing research outputs
  • Students are encouraged to share their work online
  • Open educational resources are incorporated in coursework
  • Involvement in Open Government initiatives
  • Use or creation of open source software
  • Use of Creative Commons licenses

Candidates will be assessed based on the primary criteria of openness in research and openness in teaching, followed by the secondary criteria of open advocacy and quality of the submission package.


Nomination form now closed to submissions

Previous Winners

2016: Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law. Professor, Faculty of Law - Common Law Section.

2017: Raywat Deonandan, Epidemiologist and Science Communicator. Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences.

2018: Kelly Cobey, Publications Officer at the Centre for Journalology, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. Adjunct Professor, School of Epidemiology and Public Health.

2018: Teresa Scassa, Canada Research Chair in Information Law and Policy. Professor, Faculty of Law - Common Law Section.

2019: Alison Flynn, Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences, Faculty of Science

2020: Stefanie Haustein, Assistant Professor in the School of Information Studies, Faculty of Arts

2021: Emily Regan Wills, Associate Professor in the Department of Political Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences

Back to top